Euro2020: If Macedonia qualifies, in group with Austria, Ukraine, Netherlands


World Cup winners France have been placed in a ‘group of death’ for next year’s European Championships after they were drawn with Portugal and Germany.

At the draw in Bucharest, Didier Deschamps’ men were handed a group containing Cristiano Ronaldo’s reigning champions Portugal as well as four-time World Cup winners Germany. They will also face the winners of playoff A, to be held in March.  

The full draw: 

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Switzerland, Wales   

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: The Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, winners playoff D (Georgia, Belarus, Macedonia, Kosovo)  

Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, winners playoff C (Scotland, Israel, Norway, Serbia)      

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, winners playoff B (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland)

Group F: Portugal, France, Germany, winners playoff A (Iceland, Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary)

Euro 2020 is being held across 12 cities in 12 countries to mark the 60th anniversary of the tournament.

The tournament kicks off on June 12 in Rome, with the final being played at Wembley Stadium in London on July 12.

Russia will host four matches in St. Petersburg – three group games and one quarterfinal.